Local Links of Interest

 

Genealogy Links

Irish Film Festival Ottawa (IFFO) - Irish Film Festival Ottawa (IFFO)

St. Brigid's Centre for the Arts and Humanities
and home of the National Irish Canadian Cultural Centre
310 St. Patrick Street
Ottawa ON K1N 5M7

Comhaltas Ceoltoiri Eireann -- Irish cultural movement
(http://www.ottawacomhaltas.com/)

Ottawa Gaels GAA (www.ottawagaels.org)- Gaelic football club

Tara Players (www.ncf.ca/taraplayers/) - Local Irish theatre

St. Patrick's Basilica - (www.basilica.org) First English-speaking Roman Catholic parish

St. Patrick's Home of Ottawa - (www.stpats.ca)

Sue Fay Healy School of Irish Dance - (www.suefayhealy.com)

Irish Eyes Giftware (www.irisheyes.ca)

Ottawa Irish Rugby Club - (www.ottawairishrugby.ca)

Ottawa Festival Network (www.ottawafestivals.ca)

The Gaelic Hour (www.thegaelichour.ca)

St. Brigid's Centre (www.stbrigidscentre.ca)

Kevin Dooley - Ottawa author (kevindooleyauthor@blogspot.com)

Links to Local Historical Information

Here are some interesting articles and sites relating to early Irish settlers in the Ottawa Valley.

Building the Rideau Canal

Bytown or Bust: Irish Pioneer families in the Ottawa area.

Bytown Museum The Bytown Museum is housed in a 170-year old stone building that contains artifacts from Ottawa's earliest days, when it was the Town of Bytown, including a replica of Mother McGuinty's tavern.

The Historical Society of Ottawa (HSO)
  Bytown or Bust
http://www.bytown.net

Lanark Genealogical Society
http://www.globalgenealogy.com/LCGS/index.htm

Celtic Origins
www.genealogy.ie

British Isles Family History Society of Greater Ottawa (BIFHSGO)
www.bifhsgo.ca

Ontario Genealogy Society, Ottawa Branch (OGS)
www.ogsottawa.ca

Library and Archives Canada (LAC)
www.collectionscanada.ca

The Shamrock and the Maple Leaf
www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/ireland/033001-6000.01-e.html (English)
www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/ireland/033001-6000.01-f.html (français)

City of Ottawa Archives
www.ottawa.ca/residents/heritage/archives

Quebec Family History Society (QFHS)
www.qfhs.ca

Bibliotheque et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ)
www.banq.qc.ca/portal/dt/genealogie

Ottawa Public Library (OPL)
www.biblioottawalibrary.ca

Ancestry.ca
www.ancestry.ca

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, International Genealogical Index (IGI)
www.familysearch.org

Ottawa Stake Family History Centre
www.ottawastakefhc.on.ca

Anglican Diocese of Ottawa Archives
www.ottawa.anglican.ca
     

General Links of Interest

Irish Canadian is a community site for those of Irish descent interested in keeping up with news and happenings from across the pond (www.irishcanadian.ca)

Irish Canadian Cultural Association of New Brunswick (www.newirelandnb.ca)

Vancouver based newspaper dedicated to Celts everywhere (www.celtic-connection.com)

Toronto based magazine A new voice for the Irish in Canada (www.irishcanadamag.com)

Total Ireland (www.totalireland.com)

Irish Sites (www.irishsites.com)

Irish Abroad (www.irishabroad.com)

Martin Breen (homepage.eircom.net/~asdfgh/)

abitofhome (www.abitofhome.ca)

Supporting Irish Culture, Irish-Canadian businesses and tourism (www.weAreIrish.ca)
 

Links of Interest in Ireland

Government of Ireland - (www.irlgov.ie) Government of Ireland website

National Archives - (www.nationalarchives.ie) Online databases of records and related resources, publication listings, and links to archives and related resources in Ireland, Europe and around the world

Irish Tourist Board (www.discoverireland.com or 800-223-6470) Information about traveling to and within Ireland

Online.ie (www.online.ie) Online information for people living in Ireland including telephone directory

St. Patrick's festival from Dublin (www.stpatricksfestival.ie)

Drogheda Tourism in Ireland (www.drogheda.ie) Drogheda is one of Ireland's oldest and most historical towns. Situated only 28 miles (45K) from Dublin. It is very accessible from Dublin and Belfast, Air and Seaports. Chartered in 1194 AD by the Norman King John, the history of the townland extends further back into the folklore of arrival of the Celts in Ireland.
     

logo

Signup to our Newsletter